Best answer: Which island is owned by Chile?

What three islands are part of Chile?

What three islands are part of Chile?

  • Chile islands: Easter Island.
  • Chile islands: Tierra del Fuego and the Cape Horn Archipelago.
  • Chile islands: Chiloé
  • Chile islands: Juan Fernandez Archipelago.

What country owns Chile?

Chile, officially the Republic of Chile, is a country in western South America. It occupies a long, narrow strip of land between the Andes to the east and the Pacific Ocean to the west.


Republic of Chile República de Chile (Spanish)
Capital and largest city Santiagoa 33°26′S 70°40′W
National language Spanish

What famous island is off the coast of Chile?

Chiloé Island (Spanish: Isla de Chiloé, pronounced [tʃiloˈe], locally [ʃiloˈe]) also known as Greater Island of Chiloé (Isla Grande de Chiloé), is the largest island of the Chiloé Archipelago off the west coast of Chile, in the Pacific Ocean.

What small island belongs to Chile that starts with J?

Juan Fernández Islands is a small island archipelago 670 km off the coast of Chile, off the coast of Central Chile. They are remote islands, home to about 900 people who survive on lobster fishing and several hundred tourists who make the obscure islands a vacation destination each year.

Are there islands near Chile?

This group of relatively small oceanic islands, known as the Islas Desventuradas, is located approximately 850 km off the coast of Chile.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: Why is Spanish spoken in Colombia?

What island group is southern Chile in?

The Malvinas Islands is the name of a group of islands located south of Puerto Sánchez in the General Carrera Lake, Aisén Region of Chile.

What part of Chile is in the Pacific Ocean?

Chile is situated in southern South America, bordering the South Pacific Ocean and a small part of the South Atlantic Ocean. Chile’s territorial shape is among the world’s most unusual.

Geography of Chile.

Continent South America
Region Southern Cone
Coordinates 30°00’S 70°00′ W
Area Ranked 38th
• Total 756,102 km2 (291,933 sq mi)